Tips for creating a sexy, haunted bedroom

Why not decorate your bedroom for Halloween this year?

Do you decorate your home for Halloween?  Have you ever decorated your bedroom for Halloween?

There are a number of cute ways to decorate a child’s room for Halloween, if you wanted to do that, but I’m talking about your own, romantic bedroom.

No doubt about it, for women at least, Halloween has its sexy side.  Halloween costumes for women are definitely getting a bit more risque.  And why not?  If it’s in the confines of a club, or a party, or — gasp — your bedroom, Halloween is as good a reason as any to spice up your love life.  Personally, I think Halloween’s a lot sexier than Valentine’s Day, and way less pressure.

My bedroom philosophy — is it possible to have a bedroom philosophy? — well, my take on bedrooms is informed by wisdom from my mother, my doctor, and personal experience.  And this extends to Halloween, believe it or not.

My mother advised me not to put a television in the bedroom.

My doctor, who was treating me for insomnia, told me not to use my bedroom for anything but sleeping and making love.  Not reading, or working, or surfing the net, or all those other things people sometimes do.

I still cheat sometimes and read a little in there, but mostly I try to keep it as a relaxing space.

I have a child, and if you have kids, you know that kids are going to gleefully invade your bedroom every chance they get.  Have a playdate, where do they all go?  Your bedroom.  At least that is my experience.  They all love Mom’s room. Why, I don’t know.  Maybe it just feels cozy.  In fact, that’s how my son contentedly describes it.  And that’s fine.  You know, if they’re sick, or had a bad dream, they’re coming in there. Might as well be a place they feel comfortable.

But, most of the time, it’s still MY room.  My bedroom only has a bed, a side table, a slipper chair, and some paintings, and that’s it.  Except at Halloween.  When I introduce a little theater. Blame it on my dramatic bent.  But I love Halloween, and bedrooms are perfect for staging a little gothic fantasy.  My child loves it.  But guess what?  So does my main squeeze.

Think your boyfriend or husband (or girlfriend or wife) won’t go for it?  Try it.  Surprise him (or her) this Halloween, put on the costume and everything.  Just imagine a setting where you might get ravished by a sexy vampire.  All you need is a sense of humor, a little creativity, and some nerve!

Here are some decorating tips for creating a spooky but sexy Halloween bedroom…

String up Halloween lights around the ceiling and windows.  They look like Christmas lights but come in Halloween colors.  The bulbs on mine are half orange and half purple, and the wires are black.  Are they ever fun!  They create a warm, flattering glow that creates just enough light.  You can get them at Target or party stores.

Of course, candle light is romantic, too.  What about a pumpkin scented candle?  The smell of pumpkin is warm and spicy, and for most men, chemically, a real sexual turn-on.  Just don’t get the Yankee Candle pumpkin version because in my opinion, it’s much too strong.  Target has a pumpkin scented pillar candle that is more pleasingly subtle and it’s only $2.99.

Switch out your curtains to keep the room dark.  I used Room Essentials black cotton curtains from Target, less than $20.  They look awfully spooky but they’ll come down after Halloween.

Add some chic, sexy, but spooky props.  Keep it darkly romantic.  You don’t want cutesy orange and black Halloween decorations, or gross zombie stuff.  Go for the black, purple and silver party and home decor accessories that are all over the place. Think: candelabras, glitter pumpkins, drapey black fabric, black feathered birds.  I bought some drapey, net black fabric from Party City and Merrifield Garden Center.   Also there are some cool black lace items, like table toppers, with cob web motifs.  Elegant but spooky.  Are you serving champagne or martinis?  Dark chocolate dipped strawberries?  You can find some fun Halloween goblets and plates for just a dollar or two.  You can find many inexpensive Halloween decorative items at Oriental Trading Company, Michael’s crafts store and Party City.  For more luxe items, check out Christmas Attic in Old Town, Merrifield Garden Center, and Pottery Barn.

Create a spooky-sexy bed.  If you’re like me, and you have an impossibly girly, all pink bedroom 🙂 you might need to make a few alterations to set the Halloween mood.  I think simple is best for the bed.  You don’t really want anything distracting from you and your lovely costume.  You could go for all white cotton, ghostly sheets.  Or you could splurge on some black or deep red satin sheets.  Whatever you think would look best with your vampire, witch or she-devil costume!  JCPenney had a queen set of black satin sheets for just $29.99.

Don’t forget the mood music!  So, if you’re going to all this trouble to create a spooky scene and wear a costume, and everything, of course, you are going to need a soundtrack (not to mention a babysitter).  So I suggest you make an iPod playlist and add some really evocative, moody, but sexy music.  I like a lot of older alt pop, like Bryan Ferry (Boys and Girls), Echo and Bunnymen, and Cat Power, but you could also try new cuts from bands like Metric.  Whatever feels right for the mood.  Just NOT Monster Mash.

Do you have any Halloween decorating or costume tips?  Leave them in the comments!

, , , ,

  1. Halloween Yard | Trim:: Window:: Moulding

Leave a Reply

